Structured-Light Scanning of the Forteviot Bell

Earlier in the year I helped with a little close range scanning of the Forteviot church bell for the University of Glasgow archaeology department. It was a lesson in dealing with shiny objects and to get the best results we had to scan the object in a dark room with the lights off – which, given that the Artec scanner strobes, took all my professional self restraint not to bust out some of my best rave dance moves. *unch unch unch*

Layered Artec scans of the Forteviot bell.

Layered Artec scans of the Forteviot bell, unprocessed.

After the scans were processed I was able to take the interior and exterior models into 3ds Max, join the two scan sections up together with the textures and set up a lighting rig to really bring out the texture and form of the bell.

Textured model of the Forteviot bell complete with CGI lighitng.

Textured model of the Forteviot bell complete with CGI lighting.

I then put together an animation which will be used in an upcoming SERF project museum exhibition (will post again when I have dates etc for this).

You can also play with the scan model of the bell online…HERE

Enjoy!

Edit: I have just noticed the second video to appear in the link after the bell animation plays is one of me hilariously playing the cups – as I can’t work out how to make that go away, by way of a disclaimer to either of my supervisors if you happen to read this post – I’m working really really hard on my thesis, honest!! 😀

Leave a comment